He Leads, I Buck

My mom is in a Bible Study and sent me an excerpt from the study they are doing.  It said, “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall want my own way.  He will make me lie down in green pastures, but I will keep getting up and wondering off to eat dead grass. He’ll pull me to quiet waters, but I will refuse to drink.”  LOL! The author went through and wrote a parody of sorts to Psalm 23 of what we end up doing to our good Shepherd. It made me laugh.

Well today, I did just that.  I ate dead grass.

I was Thanksgiving wasted.  (If you’ve seen Grown Ups 2 you will know what I mean) I did absolutely nothing for a full 48 hours. It was LOVELY!  My kitchen didn’t much appreciate the neglect and by this morning, I was pretty sick of it myself. Baby Grace work up earlier then expected for her morning milk. I was slow-moving after that. I didn’t want to go to church.  I wanted to stay home.  I wasn’t ready to go back to regular life yet.  I got the baby ready.  Jazmine and my husband had already been up and out to Dunkin Donuts. All that was left was for me to shower and get in the car.  Then my husband said, “I didn’t think you were going to church this morning?” All I heard was permission to return to bed. I took it.

As I was shooing them out the door and preparing to put the baby down for her nap, we found out that some friends were coming to our church today. Well, by that time, it was too late for me to shower to be in the car with them. By the time I was ready, even if I drove, I would miss more than half of the service. It was a loss.  I felt terrible.  God had once again provided me with cool water in a thirsty land and I missed it to stay home and do me.

I stayed home a couple of months back feeling the weight of the world on my shoulders.  That time I had my quiet time and prayer instead of going to worship only to find that not just one but two visitors came to see us that Sunday and I missed it.  God had provided still waters to drink from but I refused.

After today, I will push through on Sunday regardless of how I feel.  Barring sickness of me, my husband, or girls, or some other real need, I will be in the house of the Lord Sunday morning.  I am not going to miss another drink 😉

Leave a Reply

