Beer Lahai Roi

images-4

Our Sunday service begins at 11:30AM.  Baby Grace’s nap usually starts around 11:30AM.  Because Baby Grace is so alert, getting from her from the car into church does not happen without her waking up.  She will then stay awake until after we get back in the car after service is over. It is COMPLETELY off of her schedule!  We usually have a pretty cranky baby girl on our hands until bedtime.

Being First Lady is hard. I want to serve side-by-side with my husband.  I want to be there with him.  The girls and I are his cheering squad, with me being the head cheerleader. I don’t like being late to church or causing us to run behind. I like to walk into church with him, as a family. After a few Sunday’s of having a cranky baby girl, I finally told my husband that I think it best if I stay in the car with her so she can sleep as long as she can. That usually results in me missing all but the sermon but the baby and the rest of our family has a much more enjoyable day.

One such Sunday, I was feeling pretty pitiful about being in the car, not going inside.  I didn’t have my quiet time before leaving home that morning so I sat in the car doing a devotional, feeling lonely. I watched other members enter the building and was helpless to explain why I, First Lady, the Pastor’s wife, was in the car with a sleeping baby while my husband and oldest daughter were inside.

Enter God.

The devotional I was reading referenced Isaiah 40:11 which says, He will feed His flock like a shepherd; He will gather the lambs with His arm, And carry them in His bosom, And gently lead those who are with young.”

I could have jumped for joy! “And gently lead those who are with young”! That’s a Mommy!  That’s ME! ME!  I am pretty sure it didn’t look like I was being a model Christian that morning. I sure didn’t feel like it and if I had seen me in the car not going into service, I would have passed judgement on myself. But God! It didn’t look like it to me, but my Sunday morning car devotional was acceptable in His sight.  He is the God who sees (Beer Lahai Roi), knows, and understands. Hallelujah! Amen!

Leave a Reply

