Woman! Beware of the Pitfalls! Part 2: Mental Plays

This blog post is featured on A Mama’s Story Monday Morning Link-ups.

Pitfall

Pitfall

It only takes a spark to get the fire burning.  It only takes a thought to get a woman going.

Think back on your own life.  Can you recall a time where you got angry at one small thing?   Was there a time where someone you know didn’t hold the door open for you or maybe forgot to call you when they said they would?  From that infraction, did you, in your mind, greatly expand that small thing to be much bigger than it originally was?  Did you come up with an entire dialogue with that person where he/she attempted to defend their actions and you verbally bested them?  Did you, after playing out the entire scenario in your mind’s eye, act on that fictional play in real life towards the person(s) you cast so badly?

I know you have.  It is a plague amongst us women. We act on a thought, good or bad, and play it out to where it benefits us regardless of the other actors in our personal play.  May I tell you what I did?

My beloved husband thinks the 6yr old can walk alone to the nearest vacation bungalow occupied by family at our vacation complex.  I disagree.  I tried to make my point as to why it is not a good idea for her to do so (she could get snatched, approached by a stranger, enter the wrong bungalow etc).  Beloved husband cut my well thought out argument to the contrary short (which I hate especially when my point is sound and faultless) and say’s he’ll walk her down.  He left to do so and I internally fume because I wanted him to agree and not just do it because I was having an issue with it. So, even though beloved husband has left our bungalow, he is present in the play in my mind. I play out the scene as if he never left and the play concludes with me no longer speaking to him, getting a job when we get back from vacation, and move Jazmine and I out…all in the span of 3 minutes of time and includes detailed accounts of how I went from the silent treatment to separation. By the time beloved husband returns, which is maybe at most four minutes later, I am really pissed.  He tells me the family is going to the movies in a few hours and I respond with ‘ok’ but infuse it with loads of begrudgement.

I ask you, what is the man to do?  He did what I asked (even if it wasn’t how I wanted it to come about) and he didn’t have an attitude about it.  He comes in thinking everything is groovy and I’m pissed?

Ladies. WE CAN NOT LET THIS BEHAVIOR CONTINUE! No one wins and the ones you love get hurt.

Once I realized the truth of this in my own life from that very situation, I have tried to curb it from happening with the following verses:

 4 For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, –  2Corinthians 10:4-5

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.  –  Philippians 4:8

Our thoughts are an easy way for the devil to get in and twist the words others have said and cause us to view people’s actions in a false manner. Let us check those thoughts in our brain with the barometer Christ gave us with the above verses and stop these mental plays from being acted on in real life.

Leave a Reply

