Lord, Have Your Way?

Have Your Way.  The song goes like this

Yes, do your will, yes, do your way
Yes, I will go, yes, I’ll obey
So, whatever you desire to do in this house today

Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way

Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way
Have your way, have your way, have your way

So, whatever you desire to do
So, whatever you desire to do
So, whatever you desire to do in this house todays

Read more: Joe Pace – Have Your Way Lyrics | MetroLyrics

You can listen to it here.

Another artist has a song by the same title and it tells of the artists own redemptive story. But it got me to thinking. Do we really believe the words as we sing this song to God? Do we really want God to have his way in us?  I have prayed these words and sang this song in church but honestly, there were times where I was convicted that I really didn’t want God to have His way.  I either wanted to get my way with His blessing or I wanted Him to have His way in my life as long as His way wasn’t uncomfortable, painful, or otherwise undesirable.  I’ve grown some since this realization hit me but I often wonder, when I hear others say it, if they mean what they are saying or are they caught up in genuine words with a double meaning like I was?

I wonder if the phrase, ‘Lord have Your way’ has been relegated to just being something popular to say in Christian circles that give a face of humility without the heart movies attached to it?  I wonder if saying, ‘Lord have Your way’ is the new cliché saying replacing the old stand-by ‘God knows my heart’?

Do our hearts match our words? We sing the sacrifice of praise (Heb. 13:5) but is it really praise if we don’t believe what we are saying?

Things that make you go hmm…..

 

3 thoughts on “Lord, Have Your Way?

  1. Amen! To be fully submitted is at times painful, but the reward is worth it because our treasures aren’t here. Trusting and obeying. ..

Leave a Reply

