The Breastplate of Righteousness

One part of the full armor of God is the breastplate of righteousness (Eph. 6:1-15) I have always understood the application of righteousness as doing the right thing even when it is difficult.  I have prayed this over my family and visualize me putting on the full armor of God on myself, husband, and daughter daily as I pray these verses.

When I think of the breastplate of righteousness, I would always apply it outside of the home.  One practical example that always came to mind was going back to the cashier if noticing that she gave me incorrect change resulting in her giving me more money back than was due.  That is a bit outdated for me to use now since I mostly swipe everything (and by swipe I mean using my debit card; not stealing).  A better example to keep in my mind’s eye is putting the shopping cart back when I am in the parking lot.  I try to park close to a cart corral so I don’t have to travel far to return the cart.   Recently, I was much further away from one. It is bone cold where I live right now and taking that walk after grocery shopping for the month was not a walk I wanted to take.  I did it anyway.  It was hard but it was the right thing to do. Putting the cart back where it was convenient for me (between my car and the one next to me) would have been inconvenient and inconsiderate to my neighbor.

That was the extent of my thoughts on putting on God’s righteousness in daily life…until today.

Jazmine stayed with her grandmother last night while I went to the gym.  That is normal practice for us; nothing out of the ordinary.  I gave her her instructions for while I was gone and told her grandmother too. Jazmine was asleep when I came home, as she should have been, and her grandmother said nothing to me about her behavior.

This morning, during our school hour, Jazmine let me know that she misbehaved last night with her grandmother.  Her actions were very disappointing and require discipline.  The most timely discipline action is removing an unexpected reward from her.  A movie comes out today that she and I REALLY enjoyed seeing in the theater.  I marked the DVD release date on our family calendar so we could get it. I have been looking forward to today for few weeks now. Jazmine had no idea that her father and I had this in the works.  She has no idea how many times we thought about how to make this day really special.  I was so excited for it!  But she was disobedient and this isn’t the first time she was disobedient in this manner.  I couldn’t let it go.  I couldn’t lessen the discipline she needed for me to get what I wanted her to have.

I was mulling over my own feelings of disappointment when I realized what I was praying for every day.  The breastplate of righteousness is not only to be worn when we venture out of our home.  It is to be worn inside the home too.  Disciplining Jazmine when I would rather let something slide in order for us to have the exciting day I had envisioned is evidence of wearing the breastplate of righteousness!

I am not going out slaying giants everyday.  There are days when I don’t even leave the house!  It is not as if satan’s only battle plans rest with me leaving home.  The sneak-sly attacks are always around.  Praise God for understanding so I was able to stand against this sneak-sly attack.

2 thoughts on “The Breastplate of Righteousness

Leave a Reply

