Some Things Are God-Sized

Have you ever been burdened down, knew you were burdened down, received good advice on how to rid yourself of said burden but still couldn’t shake it? That was me…up until today.

I’ve heard it said that some things are God-sized. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that ALL things are God sized.

Several people close to me, both family and friends, have been dealing with some pretty life halting stuff. What is life halting stuff? Police being called on your spouse, reoccurring chronic illness, and discovering your children need more help then you can give. These are a few things that not only change your entire day but can halt your entire routine for weeks at a time. All life halting things begin with a moment but have numerous ripples across your days.

I have been praying for those experiencing life halting events. I tend to feel the pain of others more than my own cross. I did not realize how much it was eating away at me. I received good advice on how to rid myself of the extra weight. My husband tried to help. He told me that I needed to release them from my thoughts and let God do what He is going to do. It was very good advice because all but one person was living in rebellion to God. All the talking in the world would not cause them to change because they were not wiling to accept responsibility in the first place. Yet, I was still bothered by their predicaments.

It wasn’t a verse. It wasn’t a song. It was something our Pastor said during the sermon today. “I am unable to save Couple C, Person A, and person D. Their predicaments are God sized designed for Him to intervene.” I’m not inadequate. That is not why I can’t intervene. I can’t intervene because that is not what God’s purpose is for me in their situation.

I had been carrying this burden, knowing it was heavy but not knowing how to put it down. All the right words from my husband could not have done what God’s word did today. God has used my husband NUMEROUS to give me a word from Him but in this, I needed to sit at the Master’s feet alone and feed directly from His hand. You never know how heavy burdened you were until you experience the weightlessness of Christ.

Matthew 11:28-30

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

4 thoughts on “Some Things Are God-Sized

  1. I can relate – somehow at times I take other people’s pain as my own and bring that great weight of heaviness upon myself – what a great word that it is a God sized problem for Him alone to intervene! God bless

  2. I recently had a friend go some really hard things. I did everything I thought I had to do to help her and was really really hurt when I realized I couldn’t really help at all. But I know that she is in God’s hands, and so am I, and so is everyone else. We just need to trust Him and trust in the atoning sacrifice of His Son. Our prayers for them count.

Leave a Reply

