Proverbs 16:9

God hears each prayer we pray.  He hears the desperate plea and the request made in haste.  He holds them all in his hand.

A few months back, I asked the Lord to help me internalize His word.  I want to live and be what He says and not just know what the Bible says. I prayed it in earnest a few times then moved on to something else.

My husband began to come down with something earlier this week.  We were slated to be out of town for a few days and I did not want a sick husband on the trip. I tried my best to help him kick it before the sickies settled onto him.  Praise God He was better before we left and never really got sick.  I have been diligent with Jaz’s wellness routine to avoid her pre-autumn sickies and Praise God she has, thus far, avoided it completely.

I was not as fortunate as my family.  I started to feel the sickies and I immediately went on the attack. Stupid sickie fought back and my perfectly planned weekend packed full of preperatory things to get done was shot to bits.

The sickies got me.  I fought valiantly at the first.  In the middle of the night, I got up from bed as soon as I felt my throat began to get sore and started medicating. This morning, I medicated again and  plugged on with my day. One item on today’s list was a pre-planned field trip with homeschool friends. The field trip was outside.  I have allergies.  Yup.

I got home and made dinner.  By the time dinner was finished and I sat down for a few minutes, the sickies had me. I made arrangements for Jazmine to be taxied to AWANA, made my apologies for a dinner I was not going to be able to make, and sat my tail on the couch.

I had another set back this week as well.  I packed our homeschool supplies for our trip and left the darn book bag with said supplies at home. I hate having to go off script but found myself having to be creative (yuck) on my own.

Since the onset of the sickies, I remembered

Proverbs 16:9 A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.

I planned my way but my way was not God’s direction.  My plans were not dishonoring to God so why couldn’t they remain?  I have no idea but I do know God’s direction is best even if I don’t enjoy it’s beginning.

God remembered my request to internalize His word even though I had long since forgotten.  I keep repeating this verse over and over as I live it out camped out on the couch resting from this sickie.  God orders my steps; even if He is leading me to the sick bed 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

