No More Counting

There is a lovely little (nuisance) app called Period Plus. It’s free, unless you get the ad free one.  I have had it for five years now.  It is a great way to keep track of when my next menstrual period is due.  Ever since I was a teenager, I have always hated having to keep track (inconspicuously) of my period on a visible calendar or having to be ever ready for it to come on while I was out (school, summer camp, work). That app was a lifesaver!  It predicts when my period is due and projects them out for the entire year.  I can look on the calendar to see if my period will be on when we are scheduled to be on vacation. It’s great!

Ever since we started to try to conceive however, I also used that app to help predict ovulation and tally the days we had sex. That once freeing app became a ball and chain.

The month I conceived last year, I did not track anything and BOOM BFP*!  When we tried again, I went back to marking everything.  I told myself in June that I was not going to track anything for July.  That didn’t happen.  I tracked and still nothing.  Keeping tabs on your body adds stress to an already uncomfortable situation. Instead of enjoying my husband and our marriage bed, I started calculating as soon as the deed was done.

No more.

I am unchained. I won’t know when I conceive.  I won’t have the slightest clue as to when I ovulate. I will stockpile pads and tampons in my purse so I will be ready for my period whenever it is scheduled to come.  My life of trusting God cannot be controlled with charts.

 

*BFP – big fat positive (pregnancy test)

Leave a Reply

