I Know How Sarah Felt

Sarah gets a bad rep.

She is often called stupid.

I have never heard of her portrayed in a good light when attending woman’s conferences. We get hung up on her telling her husband to sleep with another woman, and don’t dig in any deeper to understanding why she made that choice.

I know how Sarah felt.

Having tried to conceive for over a year since losing our last child in utero, desperation has sent out several invitations for me to search for other methods of speeding things up.  If Sarah’s choice was made today, the masses would accept it.  She wouldn’t tell her husband to sleep with another woman but she would go get some donor sperm and be on her merry little way.  Let us not judge Sarah too harshly.

I feel barren. Sarah felt barren.  Yes, she was barren but her barrenness was lifted once God declared that she would conceive and bring forth a child.  It was 25 years before the promise was fulfilled but she stopped being barren once the word went out that she would conceive.

I feel hopeless.  Sarah felt hopeless. Why else would she offer up another woman to her husband of many years? Hopelessness can drive you to places you never thought you would find yourself . I want so badly for my husband to have a son to raise in his own home, full-time, without hinderance.  I want it to happen now.  I thought it would have happened by now.  Something to learn from Sarah is that we can’t be led by our yearning. We have to walk by faith even if it feels like this particular leg of the faith walk has us walking over broken glass.

3 thoughts on “I Know How Sarah Felt

  1. Heya! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed
    to ask. Does running a well-established blog such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I am brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary
    daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions
    or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    • I sincerely apologize to you. I saw your comment and up until today, I thought I replied! Yikes!

      First, thank you for considering my blog well-established. Because you write in your diary daily, I would say you have the self discipline it takes to write a blog. It does require work. Whatever you write is out there for all to see so you must, to the best of your ability, stand by what you write or be willing to change your view if you are proven wrong. Also, know the focus of your blog. For example, is it a personal blog, one with your own thoughts randomly entered or is it a specified blog, for example, one geared towards the best way to start a blog? Once you have that figured out, start writing. You will change and grow along the way. All of your blog esthetics, including the name, can be changed.

      I hope this helped. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

