Pagan Christians

READ THIS FIRST

I don’t know anything about the author of this post or the organization.  I saw this post shared on Facebook by a friend and the title intrigued me enough to check it out.  I am glad I took the time.  This short but dead-on read was a much-needed gut punch. Talk about a wake up call!  It is so easy to fall into the trap of teaching morality because the Bible says so without teaching Jesus.  I teach Jazmine to do good and tell her that is what Jesus wants when I should be restating that by saying, truthfully, no one is righteous, no not one and that we ALL need Christ to even attempt to do good because our righteousness, even on our best day, is as filthy rags (Romans 3:10, Isaiah 64:6) Pardon the previous run-on sentence.

My favorite quote (which is a nice way of saying the quote that slapped the royal piss out of me) was this.

We’re drinking a cocktail that’s a mix of the Protestant work ethic, the American dream, and the gospel. And we’ve intertwined them so completely that we can’t tell them apart anymore. Our gospel has become a gospel of following your dreams and being good so God will make all your dreams come true. It’s the Oprah god.” – Phil Vischer

It’s the Oprah god.  My my my.  I remember watching Oprah share her “spiritual” beliefs on YouTube and I quickly identified it as anti dependency on Christ (which is was) so I was completely distanced from this.  But seeing Mr. Vischer putting it so bluntly made me see that in my pursuit to teach Jazmine about God, I need to be watchful that I don’t emphasize morals more than dependency on Christ.  If I don’t do that, I will end up teaching her about Oprah god and not Jesus the Christ, Son of the living God.

2 thoughts on “Pagan Christians

Leave a Reply

