Like Michal

I was reading 2 Samuel 21 when I came across verse 8 which reads,

“So the king took Armoni and Mephibosheth, the two sons of Rizpah the daughter of Aiah, whom she bore to Saul, and the five sons of Michal[a] the daughter of Saul, whom she brought up for Adriel the son of Barzillai the Meholathite;”.

I had to read that a few times (feel free to do so here) and look up the references listed in the footnotes below (at Biblegateway) to make sure I read this right.  To the best of my knowledge, from what I read and referenced, Michal, Saul’s daughter and one of David’s wives, was a step-mother!

Well blow me down!

Nothing is new under the sun and I know step mommyhood is not new but to find it blaring at me in the very Word of God surprised the heck out of me!  I often try to find myself in God’s Word; try to find my circumstance, my feelings, my thought process without much hope that I will find it.  Then, there are times like this when I find exactly who I am in the very pages of God’s precious Word!  There is such a stigma of being a step-mother that finding it in the very Word of God comforts me in a way I can’t fully express.  The Bible says Michal brought up (raised) five sons for Adirel.  Those were, in essence, her boys!  Michal, if you recall, had no children (2 Samuel 6:23) but she was able to raise sons.

This is so encouraging to me.  I hope it encourages you as well.

 

One thought on “Like Michal

  1. Pingback: HER CURSE SHE COULDN’T HAVE CHILDREN HER AFFLICTION A BROKEN HEART | Babe In Christ

Leave a Reply

