Sloppy Success

I heard a quote a few days ago that said, “I’d rather have sloppy success over perfect failure every time.”  It struck a resonate chord in me.  Prior to me hearing that statement, I also heard this said.  “A budget is a tool.  It can be adjusted.”  In the words of Gru from Despicable Me, Light bulb!

A week before that, I was preparing Jaz’s curriculum for school this year. I was stressing over it because it was too much work to do in the time I originally alloted for.  I worked it and worked it and worked it until all I could do was throw my hands up and surrender. It would not work in days I alloted for.  I had to accept that I could not do it my way.  I had to do what was best for Jazmine.  Once I surrendered to that knowledge, I felt a tremendous weight leave my shoulders.

A stressed mommy makes a poor teacher.  I pressured myself not to pressure her which did nothing but cause us both a poor view of school.

School starts August 19.  I marked it on my calendar but as I started to plan the rest of the month, I began to fill in more summer fun activities during that week.  For a moment, I thought, “What am I doing?  We can’t go there?  We can’t do that?  We are in school!”  But then the epiphany came and I realized we can do those things!! We should do those things and we will do those things!

We can go peach picking after school.  We can go to the petting farm after school.  We can go hang out at the mall after school.

The last two years, I was going for mastery with Jazmine.  Poor baby. The first is always a learning experience. This year, we are going sloppy success.

Leave a Reply

