God’s Mercy Part 1

This is (at least) a four-part series. If you know me personally, and this blog is the first time you are hearing of this, please refrain from asking me questions.  Please let the posts tell the story. Thank you for respecting and honoring my request.

Tuesday, April 20, 2013.  I peed on the stick and I got a faint positive.  I was pregnant!  I wanted to shout it from the rooftop!  I wanted to post it on Facebook!  I wanted to tell all of you!  I am pregnant!

I was ecstatic.

I waited a few days to tell my husband because I couldn’t think of a special way that I wanted to tell him. After searching the web for ideas, I settled on taking a picture of my pregnancy test with his cell phone and setting the picture as his screen saver and wallpaper.  He was excited.

The only other people I told were two of my close friends with whom I had shared that we had been trying to conceive since December 2013. They both were overjoyed with me!

I was four weeks along.

The following week, I experienced what felt like ovulation pain; the kind of pain that if I was not pregnant, I would have taken Motrin for.  At six weeks, I experienced minor twinging, all of which is felt to be normal, according to all the baby community chats I read anyway 🙂

From five weeks until nine weeks, I experienced constant spotting.  At five weeks and five days, we told our parents.  I felt it necessary to solicit their prayers for me and the baby because some spotting, although considered normal to some extent, was new for me because I did not experience that with Jazmine.

I waited until I was 7 weeks along before I called to make an appointment with my midwife.  I know me.  I would have been anxious the whole time from the moment I picked up the phone to make the appointment until I was laying on the table for the sonogram. Because I knew this about myself, I tried to lessen that time by calling later instead of earlier.  Besides, my OB office prefers to see you at 8 weeks and I can usually be seen within the week I call for a normal appointment anyway.

The first available appointment came when I would be 9 weeks so I had to wait an agonizing 1.5 weeks!  I tried to keep my mind occupied but all I could think about was seeing my baby(s) on the sono screen (I told you I wanted twin boys right?)

Five days before my scheduled appointment, my spotting, though same in amount, changed to period blood red in color. I got scared.  I believed in faith all night that my babies would be all right. I choose to trust God, walked in wisdom, and decided to call the doctor first thing in the morning.

The receptionist gave me an appointment 90 minutes from the time I called.

I was so excited because I know, by hook or by crook, I was going to see a picture of my baby that day!

My husband came with me.  The first part of the initial pre-natal appointment at my OB’s office is a sonogram.  I was undressed from the waist down and ready.  The sonogram began.

I did not look at the screen.  I was waiting to hear the sono tech say “and there’s your baby” or something to that effect.

She did not say that.  Actually, she was quite for  a long moment.  Then she said, “I don’t see anything in your uterus.”

2 thoughts on “God’s Mercy Part 1

  1. I love you.
    –Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.-Hebrews 12:1-2

    Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. -James 1:2-4

    So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. – 2Cor 4:16-18

Leave a Reply

