Sympathy Does Not Mean Acceptance

There is so much pain in the world.  Suffering.  So many hurts. We ALL need a savior.

His name is Jesus.

Time doesn’t heal all wounds. That anecdote is not a biblical proverb. Look it up.  There is no such verse.

Everyone has a story. Everyone has a fear. Everyone looks for acceptance.

Everything can not be explained on this side of glory.  Only God has all the answers.

People will find it surprising that God’s answers do not match human explanations.

Humans are experts at justifying our decisions.  We look for concrete evidences that are accepted at large for being authoritative (the Bible for example) to support what we have already decided to be or to do.

I like watching documentaries. It gives me insight into “the human condition”.  But I know what the human condition is.  It’s called sin nature.  We all suffer from it.  There is no escaping it.  The degree of severity and how we suffer is unique to each soul.  That is why one person may have severe difficulty with stealing and another lying.

I realize that I’ve tried my best not to sympathize with worlds foreign to me.  (Worlds = life of hearing children raised by deaf parents, the life of an intersex person, the life of a person living with HIV, the life of a family of a deceased drug cartel leader, etc etc)

I was afraid to have or show sympathy.  Why?  Because, up until the penning of this post, I was deathly afraid that showing sympathy toward anyone who suffers emotional or physical hurts from something that I stand against meant that I accepted their choices.  Up until now I equated understood with agreed.  I equated sympathy with acceptance. Those two adjectives, although often used together, do not have the same meaning.  You, I, can do one without feeling the other.

It is very freeing for me to make this next statement.

I sympathize GREATLY to the worlds that have been opened up to me in the documentaries I’ve seen.  Documentaries in general draw light to subject matters not previously known or exposed. Documentaries pull back the covers of worlds whose voice isn’t recognized widely enough for those that suffer in those worlds. The hurts are all the same.

An artist is labeled an artist regardless of the medium he or she specializes in.  Humans suffer the same way.  It matters not the medium of which we suffer.  We suffer.

However!  Our suffering should point us to our individual and collective need for a savior…just ask the woman at the well.

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him, should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16)

http://wp.me/pRGBv-20

Leave a Reply

