Lying To God

Have you ever lied to the Lord?

I can only imagine how dumb that question sounds.  I mean who would really ever say they  lied to God?

It is only now that I have come to the end of my self (again) that I had to admit that I lied to God, and held on to that lie, for four years.

A lie is a lie is a lie, however, I want to explain how I lied to God.  I didn’t come out and say a falsehood that I knew to be false at the start.  Think of  the writing that is right before the end of an important document that you must sign which says something to the effect of, “to the best of your knowledge you know the previous information to be true”? That is how I spoke to the Lord. To the best of my knowledge, I believed what I told him four years ago.

Recently, I had to accept that things weren’t going my way and, despite my very best planning and efforts, nothing has changed.  At this realization, I was gently prodded to revisit the prayer I prayed in earnest four years ago.  It was only then that I realized I had lied.  At the time, I was not aware of the depths of my soul in that  area.

My prayer went something like this (full testimony to be told sooner rather than later Lord willing), “Lord, I trust You with my desire to crochet and I fully submit it to You for You to use it for Your glory”. When, only to discover four years later, what I really meant was, “Lord, I want my desire to crochet professionally to be fulfilled.  I want it to be done in Your time frame as long as Your time frame matches or at the very least, does not exceed my estimated time frame”.  Have you ever prayed something like that?

You are to be honest with the Lord, completely honest, because that is what He desires from us.  No hidden motives.  Besides, there no point in being deceitful with One who is omniscient.

I could have, should have, been completely honest with the Lord then but I made assumptions on what I thought He would do for me instead of asking what I wanted Him to do for me.   I was earnest in my prayer but I assumed God would do what I desired and my prayer was, more or less, a formality. Though we may forget, God doesn’t and we may be put to the test to see if the words we uttered in prayer are true in our heart.

Praise God for drawing me with his gentle cords and bands of love (Hosea 11:4) to be honest with Him and my desire to “crochet” professionally.

Hmm.  Seems to me that I wasn’t lying to God…I was lying to myself.

Praise God for drawing me with his gentle cords and bands of love (Hosea 11:4) to be honest with Him and my desire to “crochet” professionally.

Leave a Reply

