And There It Is.

A fool has no delight in understanding But in expressing his own heart.

-Proverbs 18:2

It is rare for me to speak with someone who wants to understand.  So often I speak with people who are only interested in expressing their own heart, emptying all of their words for the sake of doing so, talking over me when I am responding, or who insist that what I am saying is wrong because its being applied to them and not somebody else.

I asked years ago when I was young and a young Christian, that God would grant me wisdom and discernment.  I wanted to recognize wrong so I could do right. I wanted to live righteously. I still do but with that granted request comes the burden of learning to stand alone. Others can blend.  Truth speakers can not.

The setting is irrelevant. The topic of conversation is irrelevant as well. When I speak the truth, I stand alone.

1Kings 19:10 tells how Elijah said he was alone; the only one left to serve God.  Verse 18 of the same chapter says God responded by telling him that He had 7000 left who also served God by not bowing down to Baal.

Although I know I am NEVER alone, it is hard not to have another person there to stand in agreement with me.I was used to this happening in certain settings but I have come to realize and fully accept, that it happens in all settings.  Once the truth is spoken, silence ensues. I am suddenly alone.

Now, having said that, I also am not one who needs a co-signer to everything I do, say, or think.  I do not say or not say something because someone may not agree with me.  It’s not about me anyway. It’s about Jesus.

I know God, just being who He is and who He says He is in His word, has more than just me running around here standing and living for the truth in His word.  The reality is we are not in the same location.  We couldn’t be or else we would never want to leave each other’s company. God does not call us to cleave to each other.  We are to cleave to Him.  We are to go to the uttermost parts of the earth and make disciples. Elijah wasn’t alone in standing for God but physically,boyfriend was by himself and that is tough.

Let me just be clear. I am not going around here acting like a QC fact checker with everything anyone one says.  I am also not walking about town looking for someone to say something wrong so I can correct them.  That is ridiculous. What I am is a person who when a lie is brought to me trying to pass as truth, or when the symptoms of a problem are bought to me trying to pass as the problem, I speak the truth.  Folk don’t like that.

Folk have gotten comforta

Truth will set you free!

Truth will set you free! (Photo credit: savebradley)

ble living their lie and have surrounded themselves with people who support them living their lie. I’m not for it.  And you shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free (John 8:32).  The truth doesn’t feel good when told to you but a wise man will love you for it. Prov. 9:8a says, “Rebuke a wise man, and he will love you.”

If I’m going to be labeled close-minded, a fundamentalist, fanatic, or any other plague-like term; talked about behind my back or to my face, ridiculed, made out to be some horrid person, and stand alone each and every time the topic is heavy and I don’t let lies rule, so be it!  I will no longer be surprised even when I find myself standing alone in the most intimate of settings with familiar folk. I will continue to speak and tell the truth.

One thought on “And There It Is.

  1. Pingback: Searching for the Truth « He Dwells — The B'log in My Eye

Leave a Reply

