And He Will Give You The Words

Chick-Fil-A

Chick-Fil-A (Photo credit: Link576)

Today was national Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day so declared Mike Huckabee. I went to my local Chick-fil-A and showed my support. I posted a picture of my to-go bag on Facebook and asked who else went.  Eleven of the twelve comments I received were positive.  The last one I received was not. It was phrased in a buzz word type of way that draws attention away from the real issue here and that is the covenant of marriage and the sin of homosexuality.  The comment said something to the effect that their gay family members were more important than a chicken sandwich and that no one should judge another.

I received that comment with all humility (which is a FAR cry from what Xara of 15 years ago would have done). I received and loved that commenter just the same and had compassion on him.

I responded in kindness, truthfulness, gentleness, and love. It was NOTHING but CHRIST’s work in my life that bought that about.  I wasn’t scared, nervous about the repercussions (rebuttal comments) or anxiously checking to see if anyone responded.  I wasn’t worried about being on my p’s and q’s (whatever that really means). I was not apprehensive or regretful of what I was about to say.

My response was something like this. “I love you.  We disagree on this.  I am a follower of Christ. Homosexuality if wrong thus saith the Lord. (I quoted two scriptures here). I stand for Christ.  He is the authority on homosexuality and all other issues.  Today I showed my support of following His Word by eating chicken.”

God gave me the words just like He said He would.

Luke 21:14-15 says, “Therefore settle it in your hearts not to meditate beforehand on what you will answer: for I will give you a mouth and wisdom which all your adversaries will not be able to contradict or resist.”

I did not recite verbatim what the commenter wrote nor did I recite my exact response (I am anonymous after all) because it had bearing no the outcome.  God showed up!  He gave me the words to speak to stand for Him on this issue in my own little patch of grass on this great big earth of His for His glory!  Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

