Oh Workaround, Workaround! Wherefore Art Thou Workaround?

I don’t get it!  I just don’t get it!! Why do things have to be so long and drawn out?  Why can’t folk be accurate and forthcoming in the beginning? Why do I have to be in their constant state of maybe? I don’t live my life having to always make adjustments.  I like to have things planned out.  If you always have to have adjustments made, I no longer include you in my plans. It’s called a work around.  I work around you to get where I have to go.

We are going on a family vacation this month. We asked Tanya in March/April if Bella and Scott could go with us. We gave the dates. I asked my husband to ask her to give a definite answer by the end of April so we could plan. The answer we received was no.

Sometime last week, my Spidey sense tingled and warned me not to get attached to what was previously said; that I should mentally prepare for Bella and Scott to be joining us (Anthony is going). I did not want to listen to my Spidey sense. I wanted for Tanya’s yes to be yes and her no, no. But, I paid attention to my Spidey sense and slowly allowed it to sink in that I would have a full house for our vacation.

Let me restate where I have a problem.  It is not that I did not want Bella and Scott to join us on the family vacation.  They are our children.  They should be there. The problem I have the last-minute change of heart for something that requires planning. It happens ALL. THE. TIME!!!

Yes.  For something that happens all the time, I should expect it.  I should plan for it but I don’t like to! I don’t think I should have to.  Why can’t folk just say what they mean and mean what they say!

As my Spidey sense indicated, a conversation did occur regarding the vacation. Prior plans were made to keep the kids while Tanya was out-of-town a week before we leave.  While my husband called to confirm times and make extended visit request, Tanya said that she has no problem with the kids going on vacation with us but her mother is the one that wants them to stay.

Now, in all fairness, the main reason the kids weren’t going in the first place was because their family reunion is the weekend we are scheduled to return. We are driving.  There is no way they are going to make it. Once we heard the reason for them not going, we completely understood. I thought that would be the end of it.  But the “I don’t care if they go. She’s the one that wants them to stay. It’s not like y’all are flying” talk is frustrating. Just make a stinking decision and go with it!  I hate being strung along!

We are driving. It should be a simple thing to add two folk to the caravan and I did already work out who has to ride with whom if we have a full house (not including Bella and Scott, there are 13 other family members driving down). I’ve already worked out the sleeping arrangements if they do come. The issue comes from the non tangible items that I can’t even foresee how to work through. Scott with be fine.  He will be with Anthony.  But Bella is the only person in her age group going on this trip.  She already acts like she is isolated and stands off from whatever the activity is.  I know this is part of 13 but she behaves as if we are all to blame for her unhappiness, whatever that may be. I split my mental energy between thinking, “My goodness what’s wrong?  What did I do? How can I make it better?” to “Screw it. She’s just going to have to get on. I don’t have time to be worried about that mess.”

DRAINING!!

(sigh)

What happens next…only time will tell.

PS. My “Spidey sense” is the Holy Spirit. The only reason I did not say it earlier in the post is because it reads funnier when I say Spidey sense. I am not ashamed of my Savior.

Leave a Reply

