Abstinence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder

I stopped keeping track of when Bella and Scott come over for visits. I started off being very methodical about it, keeping track of when they came and the times they were supposed to come but didn’t. At the time, I felt that keeping track was important especially when we were going to court.  I learned that that takes WAY too much effort. The amount of control that was required to keep tally of that was draining on many levels. I stopped and relinquished all control to God.

That being said, I am aware when we don’t see them for long stretches of time. I don’t keep a written record nor do I keep a detailed mental record but I do notice when their absences are extended.

We had all three of my big kids this weekend. It was a full house.  I can’t remember the last time we had everybody.  I was excited but I didn’t allow my full excitement to take hold until Brian had all three children in his possession in the car.

I made sure Jazmine was in the bed asleep before their arrival.  They would be arriving very late and I prefered her to have a full day to be excited and enjoy her siblings.

I was excited because I knew Jazmine would be excited and surprised.                                         I was excited because I knew Anthony would be beside himself to have his brother there to play with.                                                                                                                                                           I was excited because I knew Bella would enjoy seeing her baby sister.                                   I was excited because I knew Brian would feel whole and complete with his whole house under one roof.                                                                                                                                                 I was excited because everyone was excited.

The weekend was very pleasant.  Everyone enjoyed each other.

Leave a Reply

