Standing 8 Count

Gym time, quite time, Bible Study preparation time, hubby time, me time, stay-at-home Mommy time, homeschooling time, household chores and responsibilities time, social time, blogging time, church blogging time, I got tired.

I didn’t slow down.  I just stopped.

Something happened the week of Thanksgiving.  I got a hint, a taste, of time free of restrictions.  Thanksgiving break always makes me feel like I am in school again where I refused to do anything that resembled work during that time.  During school, I wouldn’t do any school work unless it was absolutely necessary and even then, I would do it at the last possible minute because I did not want to do “their” work on my time. Now that I am an adult, I still feel that way.  Instead of absolute refusal of school work, its hit-or-miss (mostly miss) Wifommy work.

We had no home school during the week of Thanksgiving.  My son was up and I baked and baked and baked.  I enjoy baking and being in the kitchen so I do not consider that work.  It’s fun.  I view it as my me time that other people enjoy.

After Thanksgiving, school work resumed, scheduled gym time resumed, household responsibilities etc resumed.  By mid December, I all but quit.

No more school. No more blog(s). Minimal housework. Happenstance dinner plans.

I took a break.  Normally I feel so bad for saying that but I don’t this time.  I didn’t quit.  I didn’t refuse to come back to normal.  I stopped going so hard in one direction and rested.

I learned an important lesson in this and learned something more of myself.

Well placed breaks make me more effective in my role(s).  I returned back to all of the things I wrote at the start of this post with eagerness.  I was excited to begin again.  My  motive was not to ever come back to myself and my responsibilities.  It was to stop all of the day-to-day and enjoy the time and the season.  Because my motive was well placed, I believe my outcome was positive to all involved.

I rediscovered my love of reading through audiobooks!  I enjoy reading a good book but my family cannot afford for me to be engrossed in a book to the neglect of dishes, laundry, and family time which is exactly what I used to do.  Audiobooks enable me to do chores because I can listen to my book while I complete those tasks.   I actually look forward to doing laundry, dishes, and the like because I can escape to my book.  I don’t think I would have ever really discovered this for myself if I didn’t have this break.

I took a standing 8 count.  Now I’m back.

2 thoughts on “Standing 8 Count

Leave a Reply

