My Hips Don’t Lie

I love to dance.  I really enjoy it.  All I need is to hear a drum beat and you can fuhgeddaboudit.  I’m gone.  I don’t care where I am.  I can be in the grocery store and bust a quick move if they play something I like.  I dance when I’m happy.  I even dance while I’m eating or about to eat (not all the time but it is not uncommon).

I’ve said before that I have been taking a bellydance class and I love it but the class day is moving to Sunday.  I can’t do Sunday’s.  Not only is Sunday the day we set aside to come together and worship the Lord but it is also a family day for us.  My husband is a minister.  We have two services at church and he attends both.  He is tired and hungry when he comes home and even more so if he preached that day.  We have three children who go back to their mother’s houses on Sunday as well not to mention our toddler.  There is no way I can attend a Sunday class.  What am I to do?

I was saddened to hear about the day change.  For a split second, I was trying to think of a way to make it work so I could attend class.  Trust me.  The thought lasted for the briefest of fractions of a second but even then I was surprised I had the thought in the first place.  Then again, I really like bellydance and my instructor is so awesome.

You have to take a stand.  Not necessarily against someone but rather for Christ.  I am honoring God by keeping my priorities in check.  God, husband, children, and then everything else.  I am standing for Christ and keeping my commitment to Him through the responsibilities (family) He has given me.

I know of a young lady who is possibly going to start attending the Sunday class.  She is a Christian but she does not have the same responsibilities as I do.  To her I say, go for it!  If God is first, the rest of your life’s responsibilities and priorities should fall into place.

But what about my hips?

I was so pleased to hear that there are other instructors in my local area that are approved by my instructor.  If the Lord wills, the class date, time, and location will line up so that I can attend.  I hope to start sometime next month.

Leave a Reply

