Lord, Please Grant Me Greater Grace To Suffer The Consequences Of My Own Actions

In January, I learned that I had to listen to my body.  I could no longer dictate what it was going to do.  If I felt like I needed to rest, I should do it.  If I felt that something didn’t feel right, I should pay attention to it.  I thought I learned my lesson.

A few weeks ago, I jacked my knee up.  It was the day of my brother’s wedding.  I went to the gym as I would have normally done that morning.  Big mistake.  (prepare for a MAJOR run on sentence here) Not just for the obvious reason of trying to keep with my normal schedule on his big day especially when I was in the wedding and so was my toddler and we both had 8:30AM hair appointments 20 minutes away from the house and I was just getting back in the house from working out for an hour at 7:45.  Aside from that, I could feel my body saying I didn’t need to exercise that day. I didn’t listen to it.  I went anyway.  I didn’t stretch as I should have afterwards because I was already good and late.  I paid for it dearly.  I was standing for four hours straight later on that day.  Both of my knees locked up something serious on me.  They remained stiff for several days but I didn’t stop working out.  I just used the elliptical instead of the treadmill.  I prayed that God would heal my knees and I did take a day off from exercising.  My knees got better.  My left knee was back to normal.  My right knee was getting there.  I should have remained on the elliptical until my right knee was healed.

I didn’t.

I ran on the treadmill for two days in a row. I am now sitting here with my knee propped up with an ice pack on it.  I soaked in epsom salt earlier.  I am going to take a Motrin tonight to help with the sore and stiffness.  I can’t even do my normal house chores.  No laundry, no dishes, no vacuuming, no washing the toddler’s hair.  Nada.  On one hand, it sounds like a lovely vacation.  On the other hand, it’s not.

I sat in the car today and prayed for God to help me because my knee hurt and I still had a list of things I wanted to get done today.  I started to lie to the Lord and ask Him to heal me as if I didn’t knowingly participate in an activity that was going to cause me pain.  In the end, I sighed and said, “Lord, please grant me grace to endure through the consequences of my actions.”  I accepted the pain and I am growing through.

Leave a Reply

