“I’m Not Perfect”

I hate that phrase!  I hate it!  I hate it!  I hate it!  What folks usually mean when they say “I’m not perfect” is I don’t want to be held accountable for the choices I’ve made and the things I’ve done.  Rarely have I ever heard, this phrase to mean “I am a fallible human just like you and I am going to make mistakes regardless of how hard I try not to”.   I used to say “I’m not perfect” too.  I used to throw this phrase up like a smoke screen to take the focus off of me and what I’ve done or didn’t do.  The phrase has a good batting average.  It wins arguments with people most of the time but has a 100% fail rate with the Lord.  It NEVER wins with Him.

I had to remember that God looks at the heart (Prov. 17:3) and that lip service means absolutely NOTHING to Him.  With that in mind, I had to lose that phrase.  I had to be accountable and if I got called out on something and I was in the wrong, I had to deal with my wrong, apologize, and make restitution for it.

I used to say “I’m not perfect” as a means of covering wrongs I had chosen to participate in.  I used to say “I’m not perfect” as an excuse of why I didn’t speak to others about Jesus because I was out willingly doing wrong myself.  I’ve heard the phrase used in that same context.  “I’m not perfect but, you are wrong for doing such and such”.  Their wrong is still wrong and so is yours.  Regardless of who points out what, sin is sin, period.

Running from accountability is pointless.

2 thoughts on ““I’m Not Perfect”

  1. I’m tired of it as well. You are right, it is said to cover whatever the person did. And sometimes they get down right mean when they say the phrase and then want to point out something their “accuser” did. Sin is sin, no matter who does it. And running from accountability is pointless. Very good points.

Leave a Reply

