Priorities

A piece of advice for my single ladies.  Try different things.  Explore.  Look for things you like to do and do them.

I like to belly dance.  I enjoy it.  I work hard at it to learn it.  I started taking classes twice a week almost 7 months ago.  One of the things that intrigued me about this dance is that not everyone could do it right off the bat.  You have to learn it.  I like knowing that I can do the moves. No one outside of class sees me dance except for my husband and (occassionally) my 15 month old if she sees me practicing but I like knowing that I can do them.

About two years ago, I started seeing different exotic aerobics studios pop up here and there and became interested in what the hype was all about.  I heard that dancing on the pole was not as easy as it looks and that you have to be in shape to do it.  Well, that was all I needed to hear.  I felt challenged and looked forward to the day when I could take my first pole dancing (aerobics or whatever you want to call it) class.

I took my first pole dancing class two weeks ago.  I loved it.  I took my second class yesterday at another studio.  I loved it.  I am sore, but I loved it.  When I say I am sore, I mean I am so sore that even when I am laying down in the bed resting my thighs still hurt, sore.  I went with a family member both times and at the end of yesterday’s class, we were trying to figure out how we could take a pole class once a week!

Here’s the dilemma.  I have responsibilities at home that can’t go on the back burner or get passed on to someone else because I want to take a class.  It’s an internal conflict.  I don’t want to feel guilty about leaving my family to do activities that I enjoy without them.  I would be gone four  nights a week instead of two.  (I am also interested in taking a belly dance hall class as well:)).  My bonus children come on the weekends and they are frequenting us during the summer weeks.  The dance hall class is held Wednesday nights (which is Bible study night for most of us) and the pole dancing class is offered Friday evenings and late morning Saturday.  I want to commit to taking it at least twice a month but I can’t.

This is the time that one usually makes the untrue statement, “I don’t know what to do.” I know what to do, I just wish there was an alternative.  I want there to be a pole fit class and a belly dance hall class held during the day (let’s say around 10AM) at a local gym that provides childcare where I could just pay for the dance classes I take and not pay a full membership.  Is that too much to ask? (smile)

I know that it is about timing and that the time is not right for me to take all four classes at the same time.  That day will come but it isn’t today.   It sucks because now that I am a married 31-year-old woman, I find activities that I would like to do and I can’t do them as gung-ho as I would like to.  (sigh) I enjoy the times when I can do what I like and embrace the times when I can’t.  I don’t want to miss a minute of what’s happening right now because I am thinking about somewhere else I want to be.

Leave a Reply

