How do your Bonus Children address you? What do they call you?

First, I have to credit Jada Pinkett-Smith for coining the phrase Bonus Mom.  I hate the term stepmother or stepmom.  The visual image that comes to mind when I hear that term used is the wicked stepmother from Cinderella.  (By the way, I love that movie).  The term Bonus Mom is more fitting to what we do; love, care for, and support our husband’s children.

My bonus children call me Ama X.  The term, originally coined by my mother-in-law, was supposed to be Mama X.  (My first name is Xara).  But, my oldest son (for clarification, my bonus son) was about 18 months old and could not pronounce Mama so Ama X was born.  I admit, early on, I wanted to correct him to say Mama X.  My mother advised me that there was no need for that.  She said I am probably the only Ama X in the world and if he ever got separated from me in a store and they had to call my name across the loud speaker, there would never be any confusion.  I agreed with my mom and later decided that the term Mama should be kept for his mother.

If you have a story I’d love to hear it!

2 thoughts on “How do your Bonus Children address you? What do they call you?

  1. Pingback: Being A Bonus Mom Helped Me Become A Better Mommy « Amaness

  2. Pingback: Being A Bonus Mom Helped Me Become A Better Mommy | Wifommy

Leave a Reply

